Back of the Queue(Daily Prompt)

Is there something you’ve always wanted to do, but never got around to starting (an activity, a hobby, or anything else, really)? Tell us about it — and tell us about what’s keeping you from doing it.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/back-of-the-queue/

The Rapunzel Dream

Bob, blunt, mushroom – I have basically worn my hair the same way through school, college and to work. It was convenient, required little maintenance, never came all over my face when I played like crazy or rode my scooter. I loved it.

I also loved Vidya’s long plaits, Shirin’s  wavy hair that shimmered in sun light, Mom’s long hair pulled up and tied in a neat bun.2014-05-Rapunzel-Movie-Disney-03

I secretly dreamt of having long , lustrous hair  too. BUT that required – patience, discipline and dedication 🙂

Not that I didn’t give it a try. I once even put it as priority No. 1 on my New Year resolution list. I bought various hair growth oils and gels and religiously applied them before going to bed every night. I smelled of jasmine, hibiscus and other herbs. But as I said, you need DISCIPLINE. The hair care routine lasted only a few weeks ,before I was back to my usual self – brush your teeth, wash your face and jump into the bed.

I admired the various hair accessories displayed in the Kiosks and chose the ones I would love to put on my long hair. These inspirations didn’t go a long way. As soon as my hair started to grow out of shape, poking from behind my ear, my scissors went snip, snip. I told you, it requires PATIENCE.

Even, if I managed to ignore the clumsy , untidy look and grow them a few inches, there would be a wedding party that I needed to attend or an interview call where I needed to look pretty and proper. So a visit to the salon was unavoidable. DEDICATION, flew out of the window.

I still dream of growing my hair long. Now it is shoulder length. I hope I’ll have the patience, discipline and dedication to stick to my plans this time around 🙂

Photo Credit : http://arthawall.com/rapunzel-movie-disney-03/

 

3 thoughts on “Back of the Queue(Daily Prompt)”

  1. I can relate to this somewhat 🙂 I have REALLY naturally curly hair, like, small little corkscrews sticking out of my head. if I just let it dry naturally. When I was very young, my hair was long, and that straightened it out. Now, it doesn’t do that, lol! So, even with discipline I can’t do it. Ah well, we can’t all be fairy-tale princesses, can we? 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.