Daily Prompt – Conflicting advice

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever received that you wouldn’t give to anyone else? Why don’t you think it would apply to others?

What is it like to be the youngest in the family ? especially if  you live in a joint family with grandparents,parents, uncles, aunts, cousins and your own siblings.

You are the ‘baby’ of the family – pampered, protected, spoiled and ADVISED.

IMG_0017So when ‘baby’ me picked up a crayon and started scribbling with my left hand, there were mixed reactions.

‘ No no no, use your right hand’, said Grandma horrified. She sprinkled some holy water on me to ward off the evil spirits.

Time and again, the elders in the family reminded me to use my ‘proper hand’ ,right hand to write and eat.

Soon, I  learned to write with ease with my right hand.

But in the playground it was different. I was clumsy. I could never throw a ball properly with my right hand. It would never go in the direction or the distance I wanted it to.

‘Try throwing with your ‘strong hand’ the left hand “, Big brother suggested. It worked !!

As a result of these conflicting ideas, I write with my right hand and  play badminton with my left hand with equal ease.

Though these advices where not the best ones, fortunately it worked for me.

However, I will not try to give my advice regarding use of ‘proper hand’ to anyone.

It’s better to let children do what comes naturally to them.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt – Conflicting advice”

  1. Hahaha! I was never the baby of the family. I’m the eldest child. But I was lucky enough that my parents let me be and do what I wanted to do when I was little. However, they didn’t really like it when I ran and played under the sun in the playground and they tried to drag me back in the house. Maybe that’s why I was never good at sports 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.