Daily prompt-I Got Skills

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “I Got Skills.”

If you could choose to be a master (or mistress) of any skill in the world, which skill would you pick?

Forgive and forget, Let bygones be bygones,Live in the present  moment… family, teachers, priests, friends have told me on many occasions but I’ve rarely been able to let go of grudges. Not that I seek revenge and turn into a monster, I do more harm to myself instead. I keep replaying the incident in my mind, sulk and mull over and over again. Hurt, stressed I try to move on but can never let go for good. A mere mention of the persons name is enough to bring back those horrid memories and emotions. I try my best to avoid the person and sever off all contacts with him/her. Suddenly anything and everything about him/her seems so wrong.  Because of this baggage of anger, hostility, bitterness that I always carry with me, I’m never at peace.

I wish I could master the skill of ‘forgiving’ just like little children who forget yesterday’s quarrels , hug each other and  play happily again.

“When another person makes you suffer, it is because he suffers deeply within himself, and his suffering is spilling over. He does not need punishment; he needs help. That’s the message he is sending.”
Thích Nhất Hạnh

