Daily Prompt :Enough is Enough

When was the last time you were ready to throw in the proverbial towel? Did you end up letting go, or decided to fight on anyway?

Oh, yes ! a hundred times.Many a times when I see the Facebook pictures of my friends enjoying themselves in some exotic location or get an invite to the house-warming ceremony of my cousin’s third house or see my sister-in-laws flaunt their new diamond jewellery, I scream silently ‘Enough, is Enough !’.  If only I had not quit my well-paying job, I could have had all of this and more.

IMG_5060I sit and sulk on the sofa or stare out of the window, doubting the decision I took seven years ago.

Then all of a sudden, I hear hurried footsteps and even before I get a chance to turn around, I find myself locked in a tight embrace. The doubts vanish, my frown changes into a smile. I hug my little boy tight.

“There is so much  I want to share with you, tell you,show you and enjoy with you, a few tired hours in the evening after work would not be enough, for sure”, I think to myself.

It is an experiment for me. I do not know if I was wise or plain foolish but as of now I’m not throwing in my towel. I stand by the decision I took seven years ago.

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt :Enough is Enough”

  1. Another great one, Tuktuki!! I read and enjoy everything you write. Unfortunately, I don’t always get the time to leave a comment.
    They’re all great!! Keep up the wonderful work!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel bad for you that you sometimes question your decision. There is no greater accomplishment nor wealth than the time you’ve invested in another human being. You can never regain what you may have squandered if you’d chosen differently but you can always chose to make money and have possessions.
    Personally, I think those people that flaunt what they have are not truly satisfied…they are merely caught up in the hamster wheel. Enjoy your time with your son…he brings you more pleasure than a shiny bauble. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I too stand by my decision, and actually wrestle with the same internal thoughts, but when I see the relationships I’ve established with my children, and when I hear the compliments from strangers that praise their mannerisms and sense of character, those thoughts seemingly vanish. Stay encouraged, it is so worth it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.