Daily Prompt : Reconnect

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Snapshot Stories.”

Daily Prompt Instructions for the day :

1. Open the first photo album you can find – real, virtual, your call

I opened my Picasa web album

2. Stop at the first picture of yourself you see

– I did. With the shadows on the wall, glare on the photo frame and on my so-out- of- fashion, metal rectangular glasses; this is definitely not the snap I would have liked to share with the world 😦

But that’s the rule for today’s game !!!

IMG_4803Clicked on July 7, 2013. Wow ! almost two years ago. Look at Junior, my camera- friendly naughty monster. He is always ready with his best grins, cute smiles for anyone with a camera.

We were on our way to attend a cultural program in our neighborhood when dear husband clicked this photo. What was husband thinking ? Was this the perfect ‘Mother- Son moment’ he had been waiting to capture for months? Naah ! he was bored. He did what little boys do with toy guns, they fire the rubber bullets aimlessly. Here, we have a big boy with a camera. Old habits die hard !!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

I’m wearing a saree, Indian traditional dress,the nine yard wonder. It takes hours of practice to perfect the art of draping one. I love them. This particular one, sea green chiffon with small floral prints, belongs to my mother. In fact, the blue and white pearl necklace, I’m wearing here is also hers. She says, she’s too old for wearing them.

Ideally, my chic, white clutch purse would have best complimented my attire for the evening. But mothers of 5 year old, need to carry a lot of stuff – water bottles, extra T -shirt, hand wipes,toy cars. Β For us,utility overrides fashion. We prefer spaces, bulky bags on all occasions πŸ™‚

Wow! an old snap, brought in so Β many happy memories.

Thanks, Daily Prompt, for helping me reconnect and relive these moments.

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt : Reconnect”

  1. I think it is adorable. I can’t even see your glasses. Every time I pass a shop that displays Sarees, I long to go in and buy one. I brought one home for my sister from Bombay (Mumbai, now) but I don’t think she ever wore it. My plan was for her to have a dress made of it as I did with the saree I bought for myself. That dress was only worn once and I don’t know what happened to it. I think her saree is long gone as well. So, your picture stirred up memories for me, as well. Judy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow ! Great to know you like Sarees too. I love them, though they are so out of fashion in India now. I do not buy them anymore. My mother keeps gifting me one now and then.
      Sorry for the very late reply.Unfortunately,I’ve been very busy lately, lot of planning and prioritizing going on in life. At present restricted my WordPress visits to just three days a week 😦 Mondays, Wednesdays and Friday nights when I’m relatively free.
      Loved your post too. It was very interesting and engaging. It was a funny too. Reminded me of some of the funny encounters in my life too. I had a good laugh. I could imagine you standing outside the airport in the white and blue light dress and shivering in cold πŸ™‚ Mamta

      Liked by 1 person

      1. πŸ™‚ now that Junior is old enough to take care of himself (to some extent) I am looking at some work-from-home options. Given my engineering background, technical writing looks like a good option. I have joined online courses on coursera and edx to improve my writing style, grammar. Till now , writing was a hobby for me and I never paid so much attention to the structure etc πŸ™‚ Enjoying the new journey.Happy Weekend,Mamta

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.