Daily Prompt: The Lost Song

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Always Something There to Remind Me.”A song comes on the radio and instantly, you’re transported to a different time and place. Which song(s) bring back memories for you and why? Be sure to mention the song, and describe the memory it evokes.

This is a song that sadly is never on radio. It’s in my head. It transports me to the wonderful world of pickles,crisp line-dried clothes, bed time stories, long walks to farmers market.

IMG_0003-001

Many of my childhood memories revolve round ‘Didi’, my nanny. She was a kind and funny, middle aged woman with an infectious smile.I adored her and followed her around the house like ‘Mary’s lamb’.Once I tied my frock’s sash to her long black plait so that I could be with her all the time.Often when we were alone in the house, she would sing to herself.The rhythm, the sweetness of the tune so characteristic of tribal music won my heart. There was a certain sadness in the song which I could not understand then.

 “Ayo Dular, Papa Dular

Kaisay main jiyabo…”

When I grew a little older, I asked her about the song. She told me it was about a father and daughter.The father is sad because his beloved daughter is married now and is going to live in another village far far away. He is afraid he’ll never see her again.

When I was thirteen, Didi went back to her village to take care of her ailing mother. After an year, we heard that she died suddenly under mysterious conditions.( I’ll tell you more about her in another post). With her died the song.

Today, as I go around the house doing my chores, I often find myself humming her song. I feel her presence. I miss her.

I’m in search of the lost song, the song from my childhood, the song  full of pleasant memories.

