Daily Prompt: Dream / Vision

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Dictionary, Shmictionary.”

Time to confess: tell us about a time when you used a word whose meaning you didn’t actually know (or were very wrong about, in retrospect).

Did WordPress read my mind today ? This Daily Prompt  is so ‘ made -for-me’ 🙂

IMG_4546I have been thinking about the words ‘DREAM/ VISION’  the whole evening today, trying to figure out their meaning ,and how I perceived them and used them in my life.( I find myself doing this quite often nowadays- retrospection, in a positive sense. Is it age ? :)).

My thoughts :

What is your dream, child? What do you what to be when you grow up ?”  Such a common question that adults ask children, teachers ask children to write in creative writing classes.

Teacher, doctor, dancer – I ‘wanted-to-be’ someone different every grade ! There was a dull,routine touch to the way the question was asked. My answers  mirrored the same lack of emotion. It was more mechanical.

Dream is not about profession.

As I grew up, the word ‘Dream’ was replaced by ‘Vision’. Questions like “as an engineer what is your vision ? how do you see your future ?

My response was always with respect to the company I wanted to join in the near future and what I wanted to do there. My vision changed every two years or so.

Vision is not short term goal.

Dream/ vision, as I understand, requires deep thinking,a sound understanding of what having a dream or vision means, and passion to be loyal to the dream or vision through good and tough times.

I admit that it is foolish to expect a child to do such serious reasoning. But can’t we as adult stop using the word ‘dream’ when all we want to know is about the child’s community role model ?

 Dream/Vision is static, does not change according to situation or circumstances. Vision feeds passion. Passion feeds vision.

I misinterpreted the words – DREAM/ VISION all my life.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Dream / Vision”

Comments are closed.