The Toy I Wanted The Most……

In response to NaBloPoMo Prompt -What was the one toy that a friend had that you wished you had when you were little?

When I was a child, I did not have a toy cupboard; neither did my friends. We stored our limited but priced possessions in colorful baskets, very similar to this one –IMG_20151102_104621138-001

We girls had kitchen sets- miniature pots, pans, rolling pins and stoves. Doting Aunts, Uncles and Grandparents ensured that our kitchens were always well equipped.In fact, our mini kitchens often had more pots and pans than our mothers’ pantry.

IMG_20151102_115840508We played a lot with dolls. The golden-haired-blue-eyed beauty with batting eye lids was definitely there in every girl’s basket. The tangled, matted hair and battered look reflected the extent of love showered on her by the owner.

IMG_20151102_115952635

The boys on the other hand had toy guns, whistles, catapults,rubber and wooden animals. Β Some had train sets complete with tracks. I don’t remember boys playing with cars though. In fact,back then( about thirty years ago) there were very few Β real cars on the roads of my little hill town πŸ™‚

IMG_20151102_125155282_HDR

BUT they did have a toy that stole my little heart- a SPINNING TOP.( Unfortunately I do not have a picture of it).The boys were skilled at pulling the coiled strings and setting the top in motion. The wooden wonder would spin at high speed;the rainbow colored circles painted on it would rapidly get blurred. If one paid close attention, then he/she could hear the ‘grrrr-grrrr-grrr’ sound the metal tip made as it spun at top speed.

I longed to possess one. But Dad would not buy me one. He thought it was too dangerous for a 6 year old. I would hurt myself with its sharp tip. The boys won’t let me play with it either.

IMG_20151102_135010356

Spinning tops still fascinate me. My son has one , though it looks much different. It is made of plastic and is safer. I love to watch my son play with it.

8 thoughts on “The Toy I Wanted The Most……”

Comments are closed.