Witness Protection

When you do something scary or stressful – bungee jumping,public speaking etc-do you prefer to be surrounded by friends or strangers ? Why ?

The scariest events walk into our life unannounced;at that moment, we do not have enough time to look around and see if we are surrounded by friends or strangers – we just act and do what we think is best.

But, there are some scary events that come with count down timer-we get time to think, prepare,brace ourselves for the dreaded act.

My reaction to these torturous time-bomb-events is very predictable.

The time/days before the event -the waiting period- is the worst. I’m in the panic mode -crabby,snappy.I nag and crib and curse. I plan strategies to tackle the dreaded event. I analyse, at times, invent the risks involved. I go on retail therapy and binge eat in front of the television set. I  WANT my friends and family around me. Patient and all ears. NO ADVICE, please.


At the time of the much dreaded, mulled event, suddenly,I want to be left alone. Poof! I want my friends and families to vanish. Their kind, smiling, encouraging faces make me nervous. I can read their mind. I know they are nervous too. I prefer the company of strangers, anonymity.

I feel like a man at the gallows- I want the to get through the dreadful experience as fast as possible.

I feel like a warrior – I am full of confidence.

And when I’m through with the stressful event, I want my family and friends back by my side again. I’m emotional. I want to thank them. I want to hug them.

2 thoughts on “Witness Protection”

  1. I too would rather have friends and family when I’m going through a stressful event. Sure, we might embarrass ourselves during these times, but having support and love is always comforting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 It’s not about embarrassment, I think, it’s more about their presence making me nervous. being the youngest in a big household, embarrassing oneself in front of the family is the last thing that comes to mind 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.