Daily Prompt-Refreshed and rejuvenated

Tell us about the last experience you had that left you feeling fresh, energized, and rejuvenated. What was it that had such a positive effect on you?

” Come in tired souls. I’ll get coffee for the two of you and hot chocolate for the little chap”, Mum said.

Our legs and arms were aching. My back was hurting too. But we weren’t complaining.

“And what’s that stupid smile on both of your faces  ?”, Mum asked handing us our coffee mugs.

” Shall I do a cart wheel ?”, answered my husband and we both burst out laughing.

Now, I’m not sure what Mum thought about her daughter and son-in-law then. But I’m sure she was glad to see us laughing  loudly and enjoying ourselves. Being from a small town, she is wary of city life. She says we live like robots bound by schedules and deadlines. No time to connect with others. ” You’ve forgotten to live life”, she often says.

To live life like a child, that is what we did that day.

IMG_4089

We climbed the rocks, walked barefoot in the sand, crossed the little brook, followed it to the waterfalls. Played frisbee and football with the kids, made the pebbles bounce on water, danced to the beats of the tribal drums. Spread the mat and ate homemade fried rice and ‘picnic style chicken’. Laughed at silly jokes, played charade and sang songs with my cousins.

We came home smiling, refreshed and rejuvenated. So much better than the ‘ materialistic breaks’ we city folks are used to taking-  weekend gateaway to resorts with pool and spa and fine dining.

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt-Refreshed and rejuvenated”

  1. Your kids look so happy! Glad to hear you’re spending some quality outdoor times with them. Homemade fried rice – my, my, there were certainly in for a treat. I hope they enjoyed it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Masti. There, I learned a new word today. And easy to pronounce too! Life’s not too bad my end. Enjoying the Australian summer – it’s not that hot this year. Perfect to relax both indoors and outdoors!

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.